According to the most recent Distracted Driver Data Report, Georgia Department of Driver Services found that since Georgia's crackdown on distracted driving, over 19,000 drivers have been convicted of violating Georgia's hands-free law. This is an increase of 10,937 from the previous year. The report also revealed information about which counties were the “most distracted” and which were the “least distracted.” Forsyth County ranked as the third-largest county with the least distracted driving convictions, right behind Barrow and Dekalb. The data shows that Forsyth had a 0.62 conviction rate per 1,000 residents. For reference, Long County topped the charts with a conviction rate of 8.71
As a Forsyth County DUI Attorney, I know that these numbers can be confusing to many people. In today's post, I'm going to discuss what you need to know about distracted driving.
Distracted Driving in Forsyth County
Under Georgia law, distracted driving is defined as any activity that could distract you from safely operating your vehicle while driving. There are three main kinds of distractions recognized by Georgia law:
- Cognitive Distractions occur when the driver's attention is taken away from driving even if you are still looking at the road – an example of a cognitive distraction is talking on the phone.
- Visual Distractions occur when you take your eyes off the road. An example of a visual distraction is looking at your GPS device.
- Manual Distractions occur when one or both of your hands are off the steering wheel to do something else. An example of a manual distraction is texting.
Though many people associate distracted driving with cell phone use, that's only a part of it. Some examples of everyday activities that can be seen as distracted driving include eating or drinking, adjusting the radio, talking to passengers, brushing hair, doing makeup, using a map or GPS system, texting, talking on the phone, watching videos, etc. Basically, if the activity diverts your attention from the road, it has the potential to be seen as distracted driving.
Penalties for Distracted Driving
The penalty for a first offender includes a fine of $50 and one point added to their license. The second offense carries a fine of $100 and two points added. The third offense will bring a fine of $150 and three points added.
Remaining distraction-free for the entirety of your drive is of utmost importance not only for your safety, but for the safety of others around you. As a Forsyth County DUI Lawyer, I know that distracted driving can serve as probable cause for law enforcement to pull you over. This has led to the discovery of drivers under the influence in many cases. If you have been accused of distracted driving in Forsyth County, you need a skilled attorney to help you build the best defense for your case. Call the Law Office of Richard S. Lawson today.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment